Eggsmart Restaurant Review

When I went to the Toronto dance trip we ate breakfast at eggsmart. http://www.eggsmart.ca/index.aspx Pancakes are very popluar at Germany, but not with maple sirup, so I decided to take some for trying how they taste in Canada.

___________________________________________________

Introduction:

Its located downtown, near the hotel where we stayed (Chelsea Hotel:http://www.chelseatoronto.com/en/ ). It has a big menu with pancakes, waffles, eggs, toasts, salads, omelettes. You can order fresh orange juice, tea, coffee or hot chocolate as a drink.

____________________________________________________

As I entered the restaurant, I thought about my expectations

Expectations:

  • fresh food
  • nice service
  • acceptable prices
  • good taste
  • nice atmosphere
  • clean, hygenic and tidied

_____________________________________________________

I ordered a Strawberry Banana pancake and a herbal tea. The atmosphere was good, the staff was nice, but when I asked the waiter what kind of herbal teas they have, he had to look it up. When went in there, there weren’t enough tables, but soon a table became free. A good thing was that the staff wiped the table down before we sit there, but under the table were crumbs and other food of the people who sat there before us, and the staff didn’t cleaned it. After everyone of us sit down, they gave us the menus, but not everyone could have one, because they ran out of them, so we had to share them.

I waited like half an hour for my pancakes. When they came, I had 3 of them and served with bananas and strawberries. What I didn’t like about it, was that the strawberries weren’t cut precisely, there were still parts of the leaves left, which I had to cut away then.

Picture:

(Creds: https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CLuW8LOUMAAC3-_.jpg)

Reality:

bilder-18-11-16-172
(Creds: by me)

Also, the pancake came with maple syrup in a big container. At one side was a hair from someone, sticking on one side of the container. That wasn’t really good and it was a little bit disgusting, but we removed it then and after it was fine, we didn’t think about it anymore.

The pancakes tasted really good, not to sweet, and the banana gave a sweet- healthy , the strawberries gave a fresh – fruity flavor to them. When you add maple syrup to them, you had a really sweet breakfast. The fruits seemed to be fresh, just the bananas began to browning, but this can happen just like after 5 minutes, so it´s fine, you just could put lemon juice on top to stop the process  of browning, but then you would have a lemon flavour too which wouldn’t fit to the dish

I paid around 16 dollars for my pancakes (including tax and tip) the herbal tea was three dollars, which is a little bit too much for just a little mug of green tea.

My friend ordered homemade fries and sausages, I tried her dish, the fries were good, but I didn’t like the sausages, they seemed like they swam in oil, they were really greasy, because when u ate them, you only taste the oil and a little bit of the pork meat, which didn’t had a good flavour aswell.

All in all I can say that the dishes were good (taste of my pancakes) except a few issues. The prices are okay (but not for the herbal tea) but the taste of a few things could be better (sausages).

__________________________________________________

Where do they have their food from:

Because I forgot to ask where they have their food from, I contact the online. I asked: Hello, I am wondering where exactly you have your food (eggs, milk, beef,…..) from at the location at Eggsmart, 645 Bay Street, Toronto, ON M5G 1M7, Kanada and/or generally.
This is part of a important assignment for my school so I would be really thankful for a quick answer.

They didn´t replied, even if on the website its says that they will give a short quick answer, but unfortunately they didn’t reply, even after i waited like for a month for they answer and I send that email twice, with the hope they finally would reply.

__________________________________________________

How eggsmart could be improve:

  • be more hygienic (hair on the syrup container; food on the ground)
  • be more informed (types of herbal tea)
  • print more menus so every person can have one
  • look again over the prices (Herbal tea 2,79  Dollars +tax , Hot chocolate 2,25 Dollars +tax  -> does it makes sense to charge the customer more for a normal herbal tea (water and teabag) than hot chocolate (milk and chocolate powder)

Contact information:

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar